BLOG: FIELD NOTES
Claude vs ChatGPT vs Gemini vs Grok: Which Is Better for Business in 2026?
Four AI assistants now compete for the same business budget. This guide compares their team plans, seat prices, data terms and fit with tools like Google Workspace, HubSpot and Shopify, using each vendor’s own pages.

FIG. 01: An overhead view of a desk with a laptop, notebook and cup of tea.
QUICK ANSWER
Which AI assistant is best for business in 2026?
No single tool wins for every business, because the four now overlap on core features. Choose by the apps you already use and the seat price. Google Workspace teams get Gemini built in from $7 per user per month. Teams that want a stand-alone assistant pay about $20 to $30 per seat for Claude, ChatGPT or Grok.
Disclosure: I drafted this post with help from Claude, which is made by Anthropic and is one of the four tools compared. Every price, limit and feature below comes from the vendor’s own page, and I label anything else as my opinion.
What is an LLM, and why does it matter when you buy?
A large language model (LLM) is software trained on large amounts of text to predict and generate language. Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini and Grok are chat products built on LLMs from Anthropic, OpenAI, Google and SpaceXSI (xAI in older coverage). The product adds the app, memory, file uploads, search and admin controls around the model.
That split matters when you buy. You pay for a product plan, and the model underneath changes often. OpenAI’s pricing page lists both GPT-5.6 and GPT-6 models side by side, and Anthropic’s lists Fable 5.1, Opus 5.5, Sonnet 5.5 and Haiku 5.5.
How do Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini and Grok compare at a glance?
This table covers business plans. Prices are in US dollars per user per month, with the annual price first where a vendor lists both.
| Assistant | Business plan and seat price | Seats | Models named on the vendor page | Context window listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude (Anthropic) | Team: $20 annual or $25 monthly (standard seat); $100 or $125 (premium seat) | 2 to 150 | Fable 5.1, Opus 5.5, Sonnet 5.5, Haiku 5.5 | Up to 1M tokens, varies by model |
| ChatGPT (OpenAI) | Business: $20 annual or $25 monthly (standard seat); $100 or $125 (premium seat) | 2 to 200 | GPT-6 and GPT-5.6 families | 256K (Plus) and 400K (Pro) for reasoning models; not stated for Business |
| Gemini (Google) | Workspace: Business Starter $7, Standard $14, Plus $22 with a one-year commitment | Up to 300 users | Gemini 4 Argon on Google AI Pro and above; Workspace Standard and above list Google’s most capable models | 1M tokens on Google AI Pro and above |
| Grok (SpaceXSI) | Business: $30 per user per month | Not stated | Grok 4.7 | Not stated on the pricing pages |
Premium seats on Claude Team and ChatGPT Business both list 5x the usage of a standard seat.
How much does each one cost for a small team?
For a team of five on standard seats, the monthly bill at the listed prices looks like this.
| Plan | Price per user per month | Five users per month |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Team (standard seat, annual) | $20 | $100 |
| ChatGPT Business (standard seat, annual) | $20 | $100 |
| Gemini in Google Workspace Business Standard (one-year commitment) | $14 | $70 |
| Grok Business | $30 | $150 |
Gemini’s price is for the whole Workspace subscription, which also includes email, Drive and Meet, so the comparison is only fair if you would buy Workspace anyway. Monthly billing costs more: $25 per standard seat on Claude Team and ChatGPT Business. Heavy users can take premium seats at $100 annual or $125 monthly on both. For a human alternative, see how much a virtual assistant costs in the Philippines.
Which assistant fits which kind of work?
The vendors have converged on chat, search, files, agents and coding. The differences that remain are mostly about the ecosystem around each one.
| If you need | Closest fit (my read) | What the vendor pages say |
|---|---|---|
| AI inside Gmail, Docs and Sheets | Gemini | Included in all Workspace plans. Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive and Meet features begin at Business Standard. |
| Agent-style work and coding in one seat | ChatGPT Business or Claude Team | ChatGPT seats include ChatGPT Work and Codex. Claude Team includes Claude Code, Docs, Slides and enterprise search. |
| Live web and X posts in answers | Grok | Grok lists real-time search across the web and X. |
| HubSpot, Slack or Notion connectors | Grok Business, plus the connector lists of the others | Grok Business names Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack and Notion. Check each vendor’s connector list for your exact apps. |
| Audit logs, SCIM and data retention controls | Enterprise tiers | Claude Enterprise lists SCIM, audit logs and custom data retention. ChatGPT sends SCIM, role-based access and data residency to Enterprise. Grok lists SSO and SCIM on Enterprise. |
Whichever you pick, the assistant is only one piece. The real gains come from connecting it to your stack, such as HubSpot workflow automation or Shopify order automation.
How do you test the four on your own work?
Vendor pages tell you what is included. They do not tell you which assistant makes fewer mistakes on your tasks. A two-week trial does.
- Pick three recurring tasks. Use real work, such as replying to a Gorgias ticket, summarizing a HubSpot export, or mapping a Shopify order webhook‘s JSON payload to CRM fields.
- Use the same prompt in all four. Paste identical instructions and the same sample data, with customer details removed, so the comparison is fair.
- Score each result. Note accuracy, edits needed and minutes saved on a simple 1 to 5 scale, and write down any invented facts.
- Check the data terms. Confirm that the plan you would buy does not train on your content, and that the admin controls you need, such as SSO and audit logs, exist on that tier.
- Price the seats. Count who needs a standard seat and who needs a premium seat, then compare the annual cost.
If the output will feed an automation, test it inside the workflow as well. See Zapier vs Make for Shopify for how I compare the two builders, and my API integration and webhooks service for custom setups.

FIG. 02: One desk with two laptops and a large monitor, the kind of setup used to compare tools side by side.
Which one is safest for company data?
Read the data terms for the plan you would actually buy. Personal and business plans are treated differently.
| Assistant | Personal plans | Business plans |
|---|---|---|
| Claude | Training is opt-out on Free, Pro and Max | No training on your content by default on Team and Enterprise |
| ChatGPT | Training opt-out is available on Free, Go, Plus and Pro | OpenAI says it will not train on Business workspace data |
| Gemini | Google points to its privacy policy on the Google AI plans page | Google’s Workspace table lists enterprise-grade security and privacy for Gemini |
| Grok | Not stated on the pricing pages I checked | Business lists no training and SOC 2 Type I and II |
Audit logs, SCIM and custom data retention sit on higher tiers. Claude lists them on Enterprise, and ChatGPT sends SCIM, role-based access and data residency to Enterprise as well. Do not paste customer personal data into a personal plan, whichever vendor you choose.
Where do these assistants still need a human?
Any of the four can produce a confident wrong answer, so review anything that writes to a customer record, an invoice or a live store. At Sales Fury, my work brought 95% fewer data-entry errors and about 40% better data reliability. That background is why I treat AI output as a draft until someone checks it.
For a closer look at the split between software and people, read Can AI replace your virtual assistant? and Best AI tools for business owners and coaches.
Which would I pick for a small e-commerce team?
This is my read from the facts above, not a hands-on benchmark. If your team already runs on Google Workspace, start with Gemini, because Business Standard is $14 per user and sits inside Gmail and Docs. If not, trial Claude Team and ChatGPT Business side by side, since both are $20 per seat annually with a two-seat minimum. Consider Grok if live X and web search matters more than price. Then connect the winner to your stack. If you want help, see my AI and automation virtual assistant service.
Frequently asked questions
Is Claude or ChatGPT better for business?
Neither wins outright. Claude Team and ChatGPT Business both cost $20 per seat on annual billing and $25 monthly, with a two-seat minimum. Claude Team includes Claude Code, Docs, Slides and enterprise search, while ChatGPT Business includes ChatGPT Work and Codex. Trial both on your own tasks before you buy.
Is Gemini the best choice if my business uses Google Workspace?
It is often the easiest choice. Gemini is included in every Workspace plan, starting at Business Starter for $7 per user per month with a one-year commitment. Gemini in Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive and Meet starts at Business Standard for $14, where Google also lists its most capable models.
Is Grok a good option for business use?
Grok Business costs $30 per user per month. Its plan lists SOC 2 Type I and II, role-based access, no training, and connectors for tools such as Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack and Notion. Single sign-on and SCIM sit in the custom Enterprise plan. Grok also searches the web and X live.
Can I use a personal plan for my business?
You can, but business plans add admin controls and stricter data terms. Claude and ChatGPT list a training opt-out on personal plans and no training by default on their team plans. Whatever you choose, do not paste customer personal data into a personal account.
How much does an AI assistant cost for a team of five?
At annual rates, five standard seats cost about $100 a month on Claude Team and ChatGPT Business, and $70 on Google Workspace Business Standard. Grok Business is $30 per user, or $150 for five. Gemini’s price covers the full Workspace suite, and monthly billing on Claude and ChatGPT is $25 per seat.
How often do AI prices and models change?
Often. ChatGPT’s pricing page lists both GPT-5.6 and GPT-6 models, and OpenAI added Premium seats to ChatGPT Business in August 2026. Treat every price in this post as a snapshot, and confirm it on the vendor’s page before you buy.
Sources
All prices and features come from the vendor pages below. Prices change often, so confirm before you buy.
- Claude plans and pricing (Anthropic)
- ChatGPT plans and pricing (OpenAI)
- ChatGPT Business overview (OpenAI Help Center)
- ChatGPT Business (OpenAI)
- Google Workspace pricing
- Google AI plans (Google One)
- Google One plans and pricing
- Grok pricing (SpaceXSI)
- Grok for Business (SpaceXSI)
- Grok overview (SpaceXSI)
NEED A HAND?
Want these tools wired into your Shopify and CRM workflows?
Picking an assistant is the easy part. I connect AI tools to Shopify, HubSpot, Zapier and Make so the work actually flows between your apps.